15th Anniversary Gala a Success!


OSTA-AECO held its 15th Annual Student Trustee Alumni Leadership Awards Gala May 27, 2016 at the Omni King Edward Hotel. Attended by past, current, and future student trustees, the event was filled with excitement from the moment hors d’oeuvres were served. The evening featured the presentation of the Ontario Student Voice Awards (OSVAs), the Student Trustee Alumni Leadership Awards, and a keynote presentation delivered by Laurentian University President and Vice-Chancellor Dominic Giroux.

The Board of Directors would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2016 Student Trustee Alumni Leadership Awards, Polly Van Herpt of the Limestone District School Board and Hannah Tobias-Murray of the Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board. Both recipients have accomplished phenomenal feats in their schools, boards, and greater community and are well deserving of the merit. The Board of Directors would like to thank all applicants and look forward to awarding next year’s recipients.

This year’s Gala was made possible by the work of multiple individuals and organizations. A sincere thank you goes out to¬†all those who made the evening possible, most notably the Board’s Director of Logistics Jennifer Williams for the countless hours spent planning this year’s Gala. We thank all alumni who attended and look forward to seeing you all at our next social event!